A Personal Best

First off, let me assure you that this is no April Fool’s joke when I tell you that I managed to run for 41 minutes last night!  Praise the Lord!  There were many, many times that I wanted to stop.  I was so far behind the other runners that I could’ve stopped on the side of the road, had myself a good cry about being so slow and so far behind and just so tired, and no one would’ve ever known.  But I didn’t.  There were a lot of things going through my mind as my body pushed through the fatigue.  First off, I was thinking about how I’m doing this for God’s glory and how He gives me the strength to continue.  I was also thinking about my husband and daughter and how I’m doing this so I’ll be around longer for them.  And then I thought of you, my readers.  I wanted to be able to tell you that I finished well.  I have to admit that I am not yet at the point in my training where I can say that I actually enjoy the running all that much.  But I do enjoy the sense of accomplishment when I successfully reach my goal.  So that’s my take-away point for today.  Even when you’re having to push yourself through something that you know will only help you become a better person, just focus on the sense of pride and accomplishment when you reach the finish line, whatever that may be.  Happy Friday!

About No More Sidelines

I am a stay-at-home mom to an adorable little girl and the wife of my soulmate. This is the life I've always dreamed of living, even though I got a much later start than I had planned. But that's ok. God knew there were lots of things I needed to experience in life before He gave me the two greatest blessings I've ever known. My heart's desire now is to become physically fit so that I can enjoy the wonderful life I have to the absolute fullest. Life is too precious and fragile to just sit by and watch. I want to participate. No more living on the sidelines for me!
This entry was posted in Exercise, Inspirational, Overweight adult, Running, Weight loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

