Three More Days

Only three more days until we line up for the Run for God 5K!  I can hardly believe it’s already been 12 weeks.  In January when we started the program, I was struggling to run non-stop for 60 seconds.  Last night our run was 3 miles.  I wasn’t able to run it non-stop because it was a tough course but I only walked for a few minutes and ran the rest of the way.  That was our last run until the race.  Tomorrow will be a 20 minute walk and then Friday is a rest day.  I watched a video of the race course for Saturday and got some butterflies.  I’m getting excited and nervous.  Like I’ve said before, my only goal is to finish the race.  I’m hoping to not have to walk any of it but if I do, that’s ok.  It looks as if the weather is going to cooperate and it will be a beautiful day.  The physical preparation is almost complete and now it’s time to get my mind ready.  I have to visualize crossing the finish line – preferably on my own two feet.

I got some extra motivation this morning when I stepped on the scales.  Because my weight-loss goal is so far away, I have set myself smaller goals along the way.  This morning I reached the first of those goals.  Exercise works!  Find an activity you enjoy and go burn some calories.  You’ll be glad you did.

About No More Sidelines

I am a stay-at-home mom to an adorable little girl and the wife of my soulmate. This is the life I've always dreamed of living, even though I got a much later start than I had planned. But that's ok. God knew there were lots of things I needed to experience in life before He gave me the two greatest blessings I've ever known. My heart's desire now is to become physically fit so that I can enjoy the wonderful life I have to the absolute fullest. Life is too precious and fragile to just sit by and watch. I want to participate. No more living on the sidelines for me!
This entry was posted in Exercise, Inspirational, Overweight adult, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

