Moving Past the First Race

It’s been a couple of days since the first race now and the sense of accomplishment is still strong.  This is the first week since January that I have no scheduled group runs.  But I do still need to run this week because I have another 5K on Saturday.  I’m hoping that my time will improve with this race.  But even if it doesn’t, I just want to cross that line again.   This morning my sweet baby girl was still a little sleepy when she woke up.  Normally I hear her in her room talking and playing before I go pick her up out of her crib.  But this morning she was crying so I knew she wasn’t quite herself.  Once I got her up and dressed, she would hardly let go of my leg and would just look at me with that precious smile.  Every time she hugs and kisses me or just smiles, I am reminded of how much I love being her mommy.  She’s the reason I’m trying to get healthy.  I want to be a participant in her life, not just an observer.  I want to run and play with her, go on walks and hikes, and play ball.  And someday I hope to be able to play with her children.  Everyone has a reason to get and stay healthy.  So discover your reason and take the first steps toward good health today.  Talk to your doctor and find out a good starting point for you and then go for it!  You have nothing to lose but pounds!

About No More Sidelines

I am a stay-at-home mom to an adorable little girl and the wife of my soulmate. This is the life I've always dreamed of living, even though I got a much later start than I had planned. But that's ok. God knew there were lots of things I needed to experience in life before He gave me the two greatest blessings I've ever known. My heart's desire now is to become physically fit so that I can enjoy the wonderful life I have to the absolute fullest. Life is too precious and fragile to just sit by and watch. I want to participate. No more living on the sidelines for me!
This entry was posted in Exercise, Inspirational, Overweight adult, Running, Weight loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

