Changing it Up

Ever since my daughter was just a few months old, I’ve been telling myself that I needed to workout to some of the many exercise DVD’s I have while she is napping.  I told myself I have no excuse to not exercise during this time, yet everyday I seemed to find one.  I decided today was the day to start.  At 10:30 I put her down for her nap as usual.  I played on Facebook for a few minutes, talked to my mother on the phone, sent a couple of emails, sent a few texts to my husband and sister, then finally decided it was time to exercise.  So I dug my yoga mat out of the closet and dusted it off.  My hand weights weren’t with the mat so I searched around in the basement for a bit looking for them.  No luck.  That’s ok, I can do the workout without weights this time.  Since it’s been so long since I’ve done any type of upper body workout, I don’t want to do too much right now and make myself so sore that I have trouble running in Saturday’s race.  I popped in one of my favorite Pilates DVD’s and sweated and panted my way through the 30-minute cardio portion.  As I got my shoes off and stretched out on the mat, I heard Elizabeth crying, signaling the end of her nap.  Thinking she would enjoy having Mommy in the floor to play with, I decided to continue with the mat portion of the workout with her in the room with me.  It didn’t work out so well.  Even though my child loves to be barefoot, she cannot stand it when someone else is.  So I’m lying on my back attempting to do leg lifts with her trying to put my socks and shoes on me.  She finally gave up and laid on top of me.  We both just started laughing and got up.  Needless to say, I didn’t finish the workout today.  There’s always tomorrow….

About No More Sidelines

I am a stay-at-home mom to an adorable little girl and the wife of my soulmate. This is the life I've always dreamed of living, even though I got a much later start than I had planned. But that's ok. God knew there were lots of things I needed to experience in life before He gave me the two greatest blessings I've ever known. My heart's desire now is to become physically fit so that I can enjoy the wonderful life I have to the absolute fullest. Life is too precious and fragile to just sit by and watch. I want to participate. No more living on the sidelines for me!
This entry was posted in Exercise, Inspirational, Overweight adult, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

