One More Run

Tonight will be the last run before Saturday’s race.  My sister and I ran 3 miles Tuesday night and will run a mile and a half tonight.  Tuesday was a really great run.  Not sure if it was the perfect weather or what but everything seemed to click for both of us.  I ran the whole way without stopping!  My sister and I go running together but basically we just carpool.  Remember in a previous post when I referred to the tortoise and the hare?  Well, you all know by now that I am definitely the tortoise.  My sister, on the other hand, is the hare.  She’s doing really great and I’m very proud of her.  She seems to really enjoy running and that’s part of what keeps me going.  We are both so busy with our families that we very rarely get any time for just the two of us and running has given us that time.  She never makes fun of me for being so slow, even though as the baby sister it’s part of her job to harass me.  Instead, she’s been very encouraging and I appreciate that.

I heard something on TV the other day when I was watching “The Doctors” that I’d like to pass along.  They had a guest on the show that had lost a significant amount of weight and then became injured and couldn’t do the same workout.  So instead of modifying his workout, he quit altogether and started gaining back some of the weight.  Dr. Travis told him something that we all need to hear:  Don’t focus on what you CAN’T do, focus on what you CAN do.  My life has been full of ‘can’t do’ for years now and finally my thinking has changed and it’s made a huge difference.  You can’t do 25 stomach crunches right now?  Fine, can you do one or two?  You can’t run a marathon?  Fine, can you walk down your driveway?  You can’t climb Mt. Everest?  Fine, can you take a flight of stairs instead of the elevator?  I think you get the point.  Regardless of your condition, there is something that you can do to just get started.  If you do have physical injuries/conditions, check with your doctor and ask him or her what you can do.  Start small.  But just get started.

About No More Sidelines

I am a stay-at-home mom to an adorable little girl and the wife of my soulmate. This is the life I've always dreamed of living, even though I got a much later start than I had planned. But that's ok. God knew there were lots of things I needed to experience in life before He gave me the two greatest blessings I've ever known. My heart's desire now is to become physically fit so that I can enjoy the wonderful life I have to the absolute fullest. Life is too precious and fragile to just sit by and watch. I want to participate. No more living on the sidelines for me!
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fibromyalgia, Inspirational, Overweight adult, Running, Weight loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

