Forced Time Off

As you know, I was registered and ready to run a 5K last Saturday.  I had been fighting a sore throat for a couple of days prior to the race and woke up on race day feeling much worse and wasn’t able to run.  I was very disappointed since this race was the one I had been running during my training the past few weeks.  I took it easy on Saturday and ended up staying in bed all day Sunday.  Yesterday I decided to go to the doctor.  I have a sinus infection, ear infection, and bronchitis.  So it’s a good thing I didn’t push myself to try to run on Saturday.  The doctor said I’ll miss this Saturday’s 5K as well.  She said I might feel like going to watch but not to run.  And since I won’t be able to run any during the week, I definitely wouldn’t be ready to run a race on Saturday.  It looks like I’ll be taking it easy for the next several days.  Well, ‘taking it easy’ has a different meaning when there’s a 15-month old little energizer bunny to care for!  Thankfully she’s obsessed with her new Elmo DVD so as long as it’s on, she’ll stay in the living room with me and play.  So while I’m taking a break these next few days, I hope you’re all getting out there and finding a calorie-burning activity that you enjoy doing.  Spend some time with your family this Easter weekend having an egg hunt.  It’ll get you outside in the fresh air, burn a few calories, and give you a chance to enjoy being together.  But most importantly, remember why we celebrate Easter.  Without the resurrection of Jesus Christ, we would be lost for all eternity.  If you want to know more about this, please ask a Christian friend or family member, a pastor, or even leave me a comment and I’ll be glad to help.  Hope you all have a wonderful – and healthy – week!

About No More Sidelines

I am a stay-at-home mom to an adorable little girl and the wife of my soulmate. This is the life I've always dreamed of living, even though I got a much later start than I had planned. But that's ok. God knew there were lots of things I needed to experience in life before He gave me the two greatest blessings I've ever known. My heart's desire now is to become physically fit so that I can enjoy the wonderful life I have to the absolute fullest. Life is too precious and fragile to just sit by and watch. I want to participate. No more living on the sidelines for me!
This entry was posted in Exercise, Inspirational, Overweight adult, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

