Getting Back on Track

Wow!  It’s been a long time since my last post.  You’ve probably wondered if I’d given up on my exercise plan.  The answer is simply no, I haven’t given up.  But I have let life get in the way of my progress.  Getting sick a few weeks ago knocked me off course.  While you can usually modify a program to work around an injury, it’s a little difficult to exercise when breathing is inhibited.  I stopped running and started walking once a week just to keep doing something.  Last week I decided to try riding my bike as a means of cross-training.  I was doing much better than I expected and my sister and I were heading back to the truck for the end of the ride when my clumsiness overtook me.  A car was driving past and I remember getting as close to the edge of the road as I could, looking at the shallow ditch below.  The next thing I knew, I was in the ditch – but without my bike.  I’m not sure how I fell off the bike but I managed to do it with style.  I landed mainly on my right leg and have scratches and bruises for my effort.  I’m just thankful that I fell in the ditch instead of the road because I would’ve collided with the car.  And that would’ve been really ugly.

Monday is the day that I’ve been going walking with the running group.  Tomorrow night I plan on running again.  I’ve been reading a book that is really inspiring to me.  It’s called “No Need for Speed.”  If you’ve been thinking about running or even just thinking about starting any kind of exercise, I highly recommend this book.  I hope by now you’ve found a calorie-burning activity that you enjoy.  If you haven’t, why not try something new today?  Enjoy the remainder of your weekend and I promise not to wait so long to blog again!

About No More Sidelines

I am a stay-at-home mom to an adorable little girl and the wife of my soulmate. This is the life I've always dreamed of living, even though I got a much later start than I had planned. But that's ok. God knew there were lots of things I needed to experience in life before He gave me the two greatest blessings I've ever known. My heart's desire now is to become physically fit so that I can enjoy the wonderful life I have to the absolute fullest. Life is too precious and fragile to just sit by and watch. I want to participate. No more living on the sidelines for me!
This entry was posted in Exercise, Inspirational, Overweight adult, Running, Weight loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

