Pounding the Pavement

For the first time in about a month, I ran a mile last night.  I wanted to run two miles but ended up walking the second mile, which is perfectly fine.  I think last night was probably the hottest weather so far that I’ve run in and I could really tell a difference.  By the end of the run I was dizzy, nauseated, and had a throbbing headache.  Unfortunately the headache is still with me 16 hours later.  It will just take my body a bit to get used to running in the heat.  I didn’t hydrate as well as I should have yesterday and I think that played a big part in it.

I mentioned in my last blog post about a book that I’m reading entitled “No Need for Speed.”  This book has changed my whole attitude about running.  I am not a runner because I’m fast (I’m very slow), or because I am thin (I’m most definitely not thin), or because I am a gifted athlete (not even close), or because I look good in my running shorts (we won’t even go there…).  I am a runner simply because I run.  Period.  I don’t have to be fast or talented or look like I know what I’m doing or even look good trying.  I just have to get out there and run.  It’s the same for you.  I realized last night that if it weren’t for slow runners like me, the fast runners wouldn’t look nearly so fast.  So really, I’m doing them a favor.  Haha.  If you want to see if running is your sport, I highly recommend that you get out there and give it a shot.  It may take a while before you actually enjoy it.  But don’t give up!  Go through a program like I did.  My church offered the “Run For God” program that baby-steps you to becoming a runner (click on the link at the right to take you to their website).  And remember, you don’t have to be good at it – you just have to try!

About No More Sidelines

I am a stay-at-home mom to an adorable little girl and the wife of my soulmate. This is the life I've always dreamed of living, even though I got a much later start than I had planned. But that's ok. God knew there were lots of things I needed to experience in life before He gave me the two greatest blessings I've ever known. My heart's desire now is to become physically fit so that I can enjoy the wonderful life I have to the absolute fullest. Life is too precious and fragile to just sit by and watch. I want to participate. No more living on the sidelines for me!
This entry was posted in Exercise, Inspirational, Overweight adult, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

